Padrela Research Group

Nano(bio)pharmaceutical Process Development


Welcome to the Padrela Research Group

Luis is a Lecturer at the Department of Chemical Sciences at the University of Limerick (Ireland), Course Director in the BSc in Industrial Biochemistry programme and a Principle Investigator at the Bernal Institute. He is a Funded Investigator at SSPC (the SFI Research Centre for Pharmaceuticals), Principle Investigator at PMTC (Pharmaceutical Technology Centre) and has been awarded grants as PI/Co-PI from various funding agencies (EU H2020, Science Foundation Ireland, Enterprise Ireland).

Luis studied Biochemistry at undergraduate level before obtaining his PhD in Chemical Engineering at the University of Lisbon (Portugal). Following his PhD, Luis worked in the pharmaceutical industry for almost 2 years (Hovione FarmaCiência, Portugal) before joining SSPC in UL as a Postdoctoral Researcher and as a Senior Research Fellow later on. Luis worked in different institutions (academia and industry) and countries (Ireland, Portugal and Sweden) focusing his research on Particle Engineering Technologies, Continuous Nanocrystallization and (Bio)Pharmaceutical Processing.



Research Team

The Padrela research group currently consists of 3 post-doctoral researchers, 5 PhD students and 1 Masters student.



The most recent published research from the Padrela group.


Contact Us

Opportunities for collaborations post-doctoral and PhD positions.

Recent Articles

Solid-state and particle size control of pharmaceutical cocrystals using atomization-based techniques
Production and isolation of pharmaceutical drug nanoparticles
Generation and Physicochemical Characterization of Posaconazole Cocrystals using Gas Antisolvent (GAS) and Supercritical Solvent (CSS) Methods
Pharmaceutical nanoparticle isolation using CO2-assisted dynamic bed coating

Group News

Congratulations to Dr. Luis Padrela on winning the Laboratory Scientist of the Year award at the recent Laboratory Awards 2021. This award was given to Luis whose contribution to science has been outstanding in the last 24 months and is representative of the sustained contribution to science. 

Laboratory Scientist of the Year


Congratulations to Aaron O’Sullivan for winning most engaging poster at the recent Shannon Region Postgraduate Research Conference (SRPRC) in May. 

This poster discussed the use of supercritical methods for the generation and solid-state control of active pharmaceutical materials.

Aaron Cert